"Cannot resolve symbol" in Intellij IDEA 12.1.6+ Gradle 1.9

Hi, I am new to Gradle and am trying to set it up in my development environment (windows + Intellij IDEA 12.1.6). So, according to the ‘getting stated guide’ in gradle.org, I have installed Gradle 1.9.

PS C:\work> gradle -v
------------------------------------------------------------
Gradle 1.9
------------------------------------------------------------
  Build time:
 2013-11-19 08:20:02 UTC
Build number: none
Revision:
   7970ec3503b4f5767ee1c1c69f8b4186c4763e3d
  Groovy:
Ant:
        Apache Ant(TM) version 1.9.2 compiled on July 8 2013
Ivy:
JVM:
        1.6.0_26 (Sun Microsystems Inc. 20.1-b02)
         Windows 7 6.1 amd64

In addition, I have installed Intellij Gradle plugin.

Now, the problem is that when I open a *.gradle file in Intellij IDEA, it complains that “can not resolve symbol X” where X is any keyword of Gradle DSL (see screenshot below).

I highly appreciate if anyone can tell me how to fix this issue or point me to documentation which address this issue.

I recommend to switch to IntelliJ 13 (EAP), which comes with a completely new and much improved Gradle plugin. Alternatively, you could raise an issue with IntelliJ 12, but with the release of IntelliJ 13 around the corner, I don’t think the IntelliJ 12 Gradle plugin will see much further work.

Hi Peter,

Thanks for the pointer. I have tried with Intellij 13(EAP) as well. Unfortunately, same issue can be reproducible there as well.

I was wondering whether it is a known issue that it does not work, or it is just my IDEA where it breaks.

Regards, Adil