InvalidPluginException when running gradle

Hi team, I am very new to gradle so sorry if my question seems easy.
I am following this tutorial: Smithy Server and Client Generator for TypeScript (Developer Preview) | AWS DevOps Blog which shows how to use smithy.
Here is the repo they have in the project which I cloned: https://github.com/aws-samples/smithy-server-generator-typescript-sample.
After cloning, I ran the command

./gradlew build

But I am getting the following error:

Could not find implementation class 'software.amazon.smithy.gradle.SmithyPlugin' for plugin 'software.amazon.smithy' specified in jar:file:/Users/<my-user-folder>/.gradle/caches/jars-9/022b97b49ec9b69ec2bcb4f44810206a/FinplifyModel-0.6.0.jar!/META-INF/gradle-plugins/software.amazon.smithy.properties.

I think that this might be some caching issue because the jar mentioned in the error:

FinplifyModel-0.6.0.jar!

Is not even part of this project. It is an old project I built on my machine couple of weeks ago. I am not sure why it’s cache is getting involved in this new project build.

Here is the build.gradle.kts for the FinplifyModel package that was built some weeks ago:

gradlePlugin {
    plugins {
        create("software.amazon.smithy") {
            id = "software.amazon.smithy"
            displayName = "Smithy Gradle Plugin"
            description = "This project integrates Smithy with Gradle. This plugin can build artifacts " +
                    "from Smithy models, generate JARs that contain Smithy models found in Java " +
                    "projects, and generate JARs that contain filtered *projections* of Smithy " +
                    "models."
            implementationClass = "software.amazon.smithy.gradle.SmithyPlugin"
        }
    }
}

pluginBundle {
    website = "https://github.com/awslabs/smithy"
    vcsUrl = "https://github.com/awslabs/smithy"
    tags = listOf("smithy", "api", "building")
}

Here is the build.gradle for the new project: