Gradle and Eclipse with EAR Project not working as expected

I am new to Gradle but I totally like it, except for the Eclipse integration… Before I used Maven and the build/project config was just as with Gradle, easy to get working outside of eclipse but a pain in the ass to make eclipse understand what I want.

I am using Eclipse 4.2 SR1 with Gradle 1.4 on Windows 7. Maybe unrelated but I try to deploy to JBoss AS 7.

I have a root directory in which I have a settings.gradle to include subprojects and a build.gradle to define basic stuff like library versions etc.

Then there are some normal java projects which have dependencies and also a web project. The problem with the web project within eclipse is, that it includes the libraries in WEB-INF/lib even though I used providedCompile for these dependencies. The Gradle build does fine, but Eclipse can’t handle that. Subsequently I have an enterprise archive that should add the previously providedCompile’d jars to EAR/lib which again works fine when building with gradle command line tool but not within eclipse. In Eclipse I get all the dependencies added to the root directory of the EAR and also into the EAR/lib directory.

Anyone already had such problems and could help me with that? The described structure with the gradle files can be found on http://pastebin.com/Y5YhdW8y

Also the question on stackoverflow: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/14916917/gradle-and-eclipse-with-ear-project

Do you use Gradle STS integration or the Gradle plugins that generate the metadata?

If you use STS then I suspect the problem is that the tooling api does not yet provide the ‘provided’ information to the STS (it’s a missing capability at this stage). STS works around that by letting you generate the eclipse metadata before import (see the checkboxes at project import wizard). I’m not sure how successful this strategy is.