Buildship, eclipse plug-in, multiproject builds

Hello,

I am fairly new to Gradle and buildship and I have a bunch of clarification question I hope someone could help me a bit with.
First the scenario, I have migrated a complex j2ee application (made of around 100 projects) to buildship.
I have created a multi project structure that given the directory layout is only usable from the root project. The layout it:
/root/root/settings.gradle + build.gradle
/jar1/jar1/jar1.gradle
/war1/war1/war1.gradle

Questions:

1. I have added to my root build.gradle the follwing. Is it necessary at all to add the eclipse plugin?

allprojects {
    apply plugin: ‘eclipse’
    }

2. Maybe is due to me running gradle eclipse, but I noticed that it seems that my projects forget they have got a “Gradle Nature”. To fix that I have added in my root build.gradle the follwing. Bad idea? Unnecessary?

allprojects {
    apply plugin: ‘eclipse’
    eclipse.project {
    natures ‘org.eclipse.buildship.core.gradleprojectnature’
    }
    }

3. After adding more and more projects to my build, the “Gradle Tasks” view in eclipse behaves strangely.
    Few Nodes can be expanded, but most of them are marked with a red x indicating an error. Notice that my gradle build work without problem from command line
    In addition, at a certain moment I noticed that my subproject showed up twice. Once picked up from the root project and they shoed all tasks inherited from root. The second instance of the project seemed coming from buildship picking up the sub project alone (the node was lacking og most task groups)

I hope my post is understandable enough, I can elaborate on all points and provide more info if necessary

Thanks a lot

Only if you want to do customizations to the Eclipse model that Buildship uses.

If you use Buildship, don’t run gradle eclipse. They are mutually exclusive.