Using custom Java project layouts?

Hi all,
I’m trying to port a project from ant to gradle with very little success. I’m completely new to gradle and I’m probably confusing all the concepts of how to work with this tool. I have some complete newbie questions as I haven’t managed to figure this out by reading the documentation or playing around with the syntax…
The project is a quite large java project that has been around for 15 years and uses a different layout than the layout that gradle expects and that’s where I’m going wrong.

I have 3 source paths “src”, “test” and “usercode” where the first two are self-explanatory. The 3rd is a place where developers put code to build into src but kept separate for project-internal reasons. src and usercode builds to build/classes and test to build/testclasses. “usercode” should not be compiled by default.

So I want to have compilation targets as follows (names don’t matter, but I’m using the names we have in ant):

• runcompile: “internal” target that sets compiler settings etc and all other compile targets uses antcall to call this one after setting properties for which source set and output dir it should work with
  • compile-src: builds src by calling runcompile
  • compile-test: builds test by calling runcompile
  • compile: depends on compile-src and compile-test
  • compile-usercode: depends on compile-src and builds usercode by calling runcompile

And I have no idea how to accomplish this with gradle. I’m trying to use java-library plugin and do something like this:

sourceSets {
main {
java {
srcDirs ‘src’
}
}
test {
java {
srcDirs ‘test’
}
}
usercode {
java{
srcDirs ‘usercode’
}
}
}

and I’ve set the output directories using these lines:

sourceSets.main.output.classesDir = file(“build/classes”)
sourceSets.test.output.classesDir = file(“build/testclasses”)
sourceSets.usercode.output.classesDir = file(“build/classes”)