Running gradle project with Tomcat in Eclipse

Hello,

I am new to Gralde and trying to convert an existing Maven project to Gradle. I created build.gradle and manage to build from command line. But when I imported it into Eclipse. I am not able to make it the way as with Maven. 1) There is no Gradle Build (as of Maven Build) in Project properties -> Builders. So how could the project autobuild with Gradle when some source code changes. 2) I couldn’t add Gradle project to a Tomcat Server inside Eclipse. It couldn’t find resource to add to Tomcat. While with Maven project, I am able to add it to Tomcat server and run as a web application.

Anything I am missing here?

Thanks, Simon

Hello Simon, as a starting point, you should have a look at gradle plugin for eclipse available at https://github.com/SpringSource/eclipse-integration-gradle This plugin provides basic integration of Gradle in the Eclipse IDE. I’m not sure if the plugin covers the features you mentioned above, but the readme.md at the link above contains links to the issue tracker and sts google group to raise feature request and bug reports.

cheers, René

René,

I did my research (including looking through the Elcipse plugin) before I post.

What I am asking is very common while developing a java web application using IDE. It would be meaningless if integrating Gradle into IDE and can’t build the project auotomatiically and deploy and test within IDE. I guess I just lack of the knowledge of how-to and hope this forum has someone who gone through this already and would like to share the experience.