Native: How to add global compile flag?

I’m evaluating Gradle for C/C++ use in our enterprise business. This will be the first of probably many questions that I’ll be asking.

Can I specify a compiler flag that will be applied to all targets in the build? For instance, if my project has 150 different targets (I wish I was exaggerating), I don’t want to specify cppCompiler.args '-Wall' on every single one of them.

Yes, you can do:

model {
   components {
      binaries.withType(NativeBinary) {
         cppCompiler.args '-Wall'
      }
   }
}

Or write a RuleSource plugin that would do the same.

Thank you. That worked perfectly. Seemingly simple question but I’m brand new to Gradle and couldn’t quite figure that one out :slight_smile:

I can’t create another topic today, so I’m just going to drop this here:

[quote]As mentioned in another post, I’m evaluating Gradle’s Native capabilities for use in our enterprise business. We currently do not have a standard C/C++ build system (using Maven for Java and whatever the team wants for C/C++) and are investigating our options. Gradle seems great, and a few of my biggest concerns have already been answered in other posts. Here are my remaining ones:

• Warnings are hidden/ignored during compilation. They can be printed with the -i flag, but this also includes a lot of other verbose output and is no longer easy to read.

• No Eclipse project generation - with Visual Studio supported, Eclipse might be supported soon?

• No automatic listing of target dependencies, either text or graphical

In my opinion, biggest hurdle to adoption by far is the hidden warnings. Personally, I can’t recommend a C/C++ build system which does not provide clear indication of compiler warnings.

The next step I think would be working to create an Eclipse plugin or, my preference (not necessarily my company’s), working with JetBrains to add native Gradle support to CLion.