Multi-project reusing tasks etc

So, I’ve really struggled with the way Gradle defines and uses multi-projects.

Most likely this is partly me being a total newb on Groovy/Gradle - but I really have a hard time getting stuff that should be simple to work.

Simple task: Define an anttask in the parent-project, so it can be used by all the children.

Project Structure:

include :a, :a:b, :a:b:c, :a:z

a.gradle

configurations { xmlbean }
dependencies { xmlbean 'org.apache.xmlbeans:xmlbeans:2.6.0' }
ant.taskdef(name: 'xmlbean', classname: 'org.apache.xmlbeans.impl.tool.XMLBean', classpath: configurations.xmlbean.asPath)

Can I then use ant.xmlbean() {} in b, c and z? No.

Can I iterate over all the projects, and define the task everywhere - yes - but, that is not truly reusing it, that is writing code that duplicates it everywhere.

What am I missing?

I run into stuff like this, almost when-ever I try to follow any of the guides from the user-guide, when having to “share some task or definition” between projects.

Any help will be dearly appreciated.

this is done by using Gradle Custom plugins.

It is not specified that task in a parent project shall be accessible in subprojects directly.

Either I misunderstand your answer - or it’s not an answer at all.

In a multi-project build, I would require, that I’m able to define common behaviour, tasks, macros, functions etc. in a hiearchical way, and hopefully reuse a lot.

One of the main selling points of Gradle is, that you don’t have to “code in XML”, but if I can’t express the most basic “shared state” in a feasible way - I’m in trouble.

Even defining which repositories to use, have to be done in each project specifically - no “inheritance” there, unless I again, iterate over all the projects, and setup the repository.

I think I’ve might have found a way to “move on”, but the pit in my stomach growls, and my love for Gradle fades.