JavaExec always running

Hello
This is my first post to Gradle Forums and I’m brand new to Gradle. I am hoping someone can help with some guidance. I have a task that runs the Liferay ServiceBuilder for a Portlet. The task basically loops through each service.xml and generates Java code. I then copy that code to a directory and compile it into classes for a jar. What I noticed is that the task runs the service builder every time regardless of whether the source code has changed. Is there something I can add to my task so that Gradle can determine if the task needs to be re-run. This process takes a few minutes to run and causes the jar to be re-assembled, so it would be nice to prevent it from running. I think the determining factor would be if the source code in SVN has changed, then re-run this task. Is there a good way to achieve my goal or a better way to write this task?

task generateServicesAsync {
        dependsOn 'compileServicesSyncJava'

description = 'Generates ASync Liferay services via ah-core-dto from service.xml file'
        inputs.file liferayServiceFile
        outputs.dir "$buildDir/serviceAsync/docroot/WEB-INF/service"

doLast {
                //get a list of server.xml files
                FileTree serviceXMLFiles = fileTree("${projectDir}/docroot/WEB-INF") {
                       include '**/service.xml'
                       exclude  '**/classes/**/service*.xml'
                }

serviceXMLFiles.each { File svcXMLFile ->
                        println "Processing Async Service: ${svcXMLFile} :"
                        javaexec {
                                println "Processinf Async on ${svcXMLFile} :"
                                println 'Runnin ASYNC Service Builder:  Inputs - '
                                println "lib.dir=${liferayLibDir}"
                                println "base.dir=${buildDir}/serviceSync"
                                println "service.api.dir=${buildDir}/serviceAsync/docroot/WEB-INF/service"