Run an external jar file

Hi,

Groovy/Gradle newbie here :slight_smile:

Iā€™m working on a gradle script where one of the task needs to do the following:

-> Execute a pre-built jar file, which expects couple of arguments/parameters. The jar file depends on some other files from the same directory where the jar file is located.

At the moment, I donā€™t need to compile/build anything from a java source code. I already have a jar file that needs to be executed in a task along with few other tasks.

Iā€™m going through gradle documentation and searching online too, but most info seems to be revolving around compiling and building from java source code. I believe in my case, I just need to use the ā€˜applicationā€™ plugin but I donā€™t think Iā€™m doing it properly.

Hereā€™s what my build.gradle looks like right now:

apply plugin: 'application'
  task runScheduleReader << {
 javaexec {
  main = "ClassName"
  classpath = "lib/JarFileName"
  args('141028', 'abcd')
  }
}

The folder structure is pretty simple. at the root, I have build.gradle file, whose content is posted above. I have a directory named ā€œlibā€ where Iā€™ve stored the jar file and other files it requires. The 3rd line is where Iā€™m (trying to) pass parameter that is required by the jar file for execution.

Iā€™ve tried few other options, but not getting anywhere. Would someone be able to point me to a direction what exact Iā€™m missing here? Even if I have the source code to re-build it using Gradle (which I donā€™t think is necessary), will it compile the source code every time the build script is run, even though the source code for that java program is not changing.

Iā€™m now able to run/execute the jar file. Looks like my classpath syntax wasnā€™t accurate.

I needed to use the following in classpath

classpath = files("lib/MyJarFile.jar")

Butā€¦ the jar file failes to access/open a property file that is located in the same directory as the jar file itself

Hi Aver,