Is it possible to pass properties to pom.xml as a system property from build.gradle?

We are in the process of checking whether our projects can be migrated from ant-maven build system to gradle-maven build system. Unfortunately, we have to live with our maven pom’s for sometime before we decide to move fully to gradle because of the scope of the changes. In the meantime, I came across an issue where I need to pass properties to our pom’s for some of our dependencies.

Is there a way I can pass some properties like how i can pass a system property “mvn install -DsomeProperty=someValue”?

I’m trying to understand in which jvm the dependency resolution happens. Does it happen in a test jvm or gradle jvm? I have tried defining systemProperty “someProperty”, “someValue” and System.setProperty("someProperty,“someValue”) as possible solutions. Both didn’t work.

I’m a newbie here so any input will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Sundar

Are you asking about the evaluation of Java system properties in a resolved POM through Gradle’s dependency resolution? It is not supported.

Think Benjamin answered it for me. Thanks!!

@bmuschko Are there any plans to do this in future or an alternative solution to this? I need to find a way to make the pom’s get some property arguments when they are resolved.

My personal take on supporting the use of system properties in POMs is that it makes resolving dependencies extremely environment-specific and therefore brittle. A user usually does not know what system properties are evaluated and what values can be passed in without have a look at the POM of each dependency and their transitive dependencies. The end result would be a build that’s not reproducible. I don’t think we’ll support that feature in Gradle.