How to force a final archiving task for creation of an artifact

Hi, I’m still pretty new to Gradle, and have been having some trouble with artifacts. I have a multi-project build with about 33 sub-projects. Some of these projects have to create their own archive files after the assemble has finished. For some reason I haven’t been able to consistently get this to work. Sometimes one or two projects don’t produce the extra jar file and I’m assuming that they are running my jar task before the compile task has completed (since I get no errors).

Maybe I’m just misunderstanding the proper way to do this in Gradle. Here is an example from one of these projects:

task createClassesJar(type: Jar) {
description = 'Assembles and builds classes and produces jar'
archiveName = intermediateClassesJar
destinationDir = file(intermediateClassesDir)
from fileTree(dir: 'build/intermediates/classes/release', include: '**/*.class')
}

assemble.dependsOn createClassesJar

artifacts {
    archives file("$intermediateClassesDir/$intermediateClassesJar")
}

If I run grade assemble from the master project sometimes this intermediate jar file isn’t created.

What is the proper way to tell Gradle that I want to execute always execute this task after it has already generated the needed class files?

Thanks, Derek

What’s producing the class files? If it’s a JavaCompile task, you should be able to do:

// other stuff above from() in original code
  from(nameOfTheCompileTask)
}

The ArtifactHandler understands that archives that come from particular tasks require dependencies, so if you just use the task name it’ll translate that into a file + dependency:

artifacts {
   archives createClassesJar
}

I think that also makes assemble depend on the task that creates the jar too.

This might help: https://gradle.org/feature-spotlight-incremental-builds/