Gradle plugin to read build command parameters

I am new to Gradle plugin development and hoping that someone can tell me whether this is even possible. The idea is to write a standalone plugin that can be called by a multi project and at build time, extract the build command parameters. For example, running this command,

./gradlew :subprojA:assemble :subprojB:assemble

the plugin should be able to determine that subprojA and subprojB are to be assembled. AFAIK, a plugin is task centric and I am hoping there is a way to tap into the calling project build lifecycle and gets executed automatically so that info can be extracted.

Thanks in advance for any insights.

If you want to know which projects are going to built as part of any given Gradle execution then you simply need inspect the ‘TaskExecutionGraph’. Not only are the CLI arguments not publicly available from your build script, they are not necessarily inclusive of all projects being built. For example, if ‘subprojB’ depends on ‘subprojA’ then executing ‘$ gradle :subprojB:assemble’ will actually result in both ‘subprojB’ and ‘subprojA’ being built, despite not explicitly specifying any task of ‘subprojA’ in the command line.

A much more robust solution is to determine the projects being built by aggregating a list from all executing tasks.

gradle.taskGraph.whenReady { graph ->

println graph.allTasks.unique { it.project }.collect { it.project }

}