Gradle Native C++ - Set prebuild task based on platform (32 or 64 bit)

Hi to all. I’m a newbie in using Gradle, so sorry if my questions would sound naive. I’m trying to migrate from Makefiles to Gradle, in order to setup a basic Continuous Integration Server for several “legacy” C++ projects in Linux.
Specifically, I have to call a Sybase pre-compiler for some files, which generates cpp files to be passed to the gcc compiler along with other ordinary cpp files. The final output consists of a shared library.

The precompiler comes with two distinct executables, c_pre32 (for 32 bit) and c_pre64 (for 64 bit).

I successfully created a task (precompileSybase) that iteratively calls the precompiler on every Sybase file.

Now I have 2 distinct problems:

1. I want to call precompileSybase before every call to a build task: by this way, the build task will find in the main directory also the cpp generated files, and should correctly compile and link
  2. Gradle automatically creates 2 build tasks: x32DebugFooSharedLibrary and x64DebugFooSharedLibrary. I need a way to set the correct Sybase executable name (c_pre32 or c_pre64) depending on the bitness of the build task. I suppose this string should be passed to the precompileSybase task, rather than having two distinct task (e.g. precompileSybase_32 and precompileSybase_64)

For the first problem, I tried with this:

tasks.getByPath('x64DebugFooSharedLibrary').dependsOn precompileSybase

but I get this error:

Task with path 'x64DebugFooSharedLibrary' not found in root project 'Foo'.

For the second problem, I tried using TaskInputs map:

tasks.getByPath('precompileSybase').inputs.property("sybasePrecompiler", "cpre_r64")

but I don’t know where to call it.

Any help is appreciated!

Thanks,
Mauro