Gradle fails to download dependencies if not present in mavenLocal()

Hi, Let me start by admitting that I’m an absolute newbie to Gradle; in fact, I started using it only as part of learning “Cascading” which uses Gradle for build. When I’m trying to build, I’m getting the following exception. It appears that the dependency is not present in the local Maven repo and Gradle, for some reason, fails instead of downloading it. Option --refresh-dependencies does not help. I found two workarounds 1) Put mavenCentral() before mavenLocal() in the build file, or 2) Delete the failing group from Maven local. However, none of these are desirable because using Maven Central all the time just makes the build slower and user shouldn’t have to delete dependencies from Maven local to satisfy Gradle.

My development environment is: Mac OS X 10.8.4, Apple Java 1.6.0_51, Gradle 1.3/1.6 (both have the same issue).

FAILURE: Build failed with an exception.
  * What went wrong:
Could not resolve all dependencies for configuration ':providedCompile'.
> Artifact 'commons-httpclient:commons-httpclient:3.1@jar' not found.

Here’s a Gist to the build file. https://gist.github.com/abhijitsarkar/6145223

Any help is appreciated. If I missed to provide any information above, just let me know.

Using Maven local is usually pointless in Gradle, so you should just remove mavenLocal(). That is, Gradle has its own cache in ‘~/.gradle/caches’ and will not redownload artifacts if they were already retrieved. Maven local can be useful if you happen to install some artifacts locally (some of your builds are Maven builds).

I believe your problem is caused by the fact that hadoop-core is found within .m2, so Gradle assumes that all of its dependencies can be found in .m2, which is not the case for some reason.

So I think you should just remove “mavenLocal()”.