Call tasks from within an applied plugin in an external build.gradle file

Hello all,

As stated in the title, I would like to be able to call a task (from a custom plugin I wrote) in an external build.gradle file. If possible, I would also like to be able to pass arguments (that can be interpreted as command line arguments by the plugin) to the task.

How can I do this? I’ve searched the web for hours and hours, with no result.

The main point is that the custom plugin shouldn’t be altered anymore, as it’s use isn’t pinned to this project only - meaning it should be possible to use it for other projects too, therefore it should be as abstract as possible.

I hope someone understands me, as I’m not very good at explaining ^^

Any help or answer is appreciated!

~ Joe

I’m not sure if I understand the question, but build scripts and plugins don’t call tasks. They declare tasks, and add dependencies between them (all in the configuration phase). In the execution phase, the tasks requested by the user are executed, along with any depended-on tasks.

If you explained your use case, I might be able to say more.

First of all thank you for the swift reply.

I’ll explain the use case:

I’m trying to create an installation proces, consisting of multiple steps. I wrote 2 custom plugins that take care of specific tasks (backing up a given file and code insertion into a given file) which I would like to be able to re-use along these different steps.

The thing is that I need to be able to call these two plugins at about every step, and supply them with different command line arguments for each step (the command line arguments are located in a gradle.properties file).

I think it’s obvious the custom plugins are 2 standalone projects, they don’t “know” anything about the multi-step installation.

This wouldn’t be a problem if this was all one big project, but it’s crucial for the custom plugins to be as abstract as possible so they can be re-used later on for other purposes.