Why is Gradle Wrapper needed?

I am new to Gradle and Gradle Wrapper and I am confused about what Gradle Wrapper does.

As stated in the official website, there are two benefits from Gradle Wrapper:

• Standardizes a project on a given Gradle version, leading to more reliable and robust builds.
  • Provisioning a new Gradle version to different users and execution environment (e.g. IDEs or Continuous Integration servers) is as simple as changing the Wrapper definition.

which I agree.

However, as I see it, we do not need a new thing (Gradle Wrapper) to gain these benefits. A simple script could do the same thing, something like this

# 1. download Gradle zip file of specific version
# 2. unzip the downloaded file to specific location (e.g., ~/.gradle/wrapper)
# 3. activate the gradle using environment variable (adding new gradle executables to PATH)

With this script, I believe we can do anything that Wrapper does.

I haven’t found a convincing answer for this, really appreciate if someone could share some insights.

I also open a question here: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/68799711/why-is-gradle-wrapper-needed.

1 Like

So you are suggesting to not use the wrapper but instead write an own script that does exactly the same thing?
Because that is basically what the wrapper is doing.
It downloads a specific version of Gradle to the cache, optionally verifies its checksum, and then uses this downloaded version to execute the build.

Some advantages of the standard wrapper opposed to you writing an own script that does the same things are:

• it is thoroughly tested through extremely widespread use, as 98,7 % of the Gradle projects out there use it and any that does not imho has a bug
  • every Gradle user knows it and is familiar with it
  • Gradle users can trust it by verifying the checksum to ensure it is the standard wrapper
  • downloaded versions can be reused across projects as the wrapper is a standard building block