What is the actual right way to use tasks?

I’m rather new to gradle and i must admit that the syntax is far a way from self-explaining.
I made a copy-task as shown below and i ask me now is this the right way to do?

Or if this is an obsolete way because the most code-snippets uses another way.
(and what is the main difference to them?)

Thx for any further explanatons.

android.applicationVariants.all { variant ->
    variant.outputs.all { output ->
       def outputFile = output.outputFile
       if (outputFile != null && outputFile.name.endsWith('.apk')) {
          def assembleTaskName = variant.getAssembleProvider().name
          def mustRunAfterTask = "create${variant.name.capitalize()}ApkListingFileRedirect"
          def newTargetName = theAppName + "-v" + variant.versionName + "-" + variant.name + ".apk"
          def copyTask = project.tasks.create("copyAndRenameOutputAPKFile$assembleTaskName", Copy)
          copyTask.from(outputFile.parent) {
              include outputFileName
          }
          copyTask.into(rootProjDir)
          copyTask.rename outputFileName , newTargetName
          copyTask.dependsOn assembleTaskName
          copyTask.mustRunAfter mustRunAfterTask
          copyTask.doLast() {
              println "Copied ${outputFileName} to ${newTargetName}"
          }
          tasks[assembleTaskName].finalizedBy = [copyTask]
       }
    }
}

Nobody has a proposal?

That’s more an Android question than a Gradle question.
The Android Gradle Plugin is a completely separate project.

Regarding “self-explanatoryness”, I greatly recommend using the Kotlin DSL instead.
You immediately get type-safe build scripts, proper helpful error messages if you mess up the syntax, and amazingly better IDE support.

I’m no Android developer, so I have no idea whether there is a more appropriate way to do what you want to, but purley from the snippet you showed, here a version that at least removes some bad-practices and problematic parts: