Use of closure to defer execution for "include" of Copy task

Continuing the discussion from Right way to copy contents from dependency archives?:

Hello folks,

I am a gradle newbie. From the linked topic, I see how the “from” configuration of the Copy task is deferred until the execution time. I wanted to do the same thing with the “include” configuration of the Copy task, i.e. I want to defer the evaluation of the include patterns for the Copy task until execution time (since the patterns are being created by a preceding dependent task). This logic is being written in a custom groovy plugin and I will try to explain it below:

CustomExtension.groovy:

class CustomExtension {
   String patternsFile // The file is a text file with a line for each pattern
}

CustomPlugin.groovy

class CustomPlugin implements Plugin<Project> {

void apply(Project project) {

def customSourceSet = ... // Created here
        customExtension = project.extensions.create("customExtension", CustomExtension, project)
        project.task("generateMatchingPatterns") { 
            // Populate customExtension.patternsFile here
        }
        // Creating the custom copying task
        project.task("copyMatchingClassses",type: Copy, dependsOn: "generateMatchingPatterns") {
            include {
                def listingFile = project.file(customExtension.patternsFile )
                def includedFiles = [] // Empty list
                listingFile.eachLine { includedFiles << it } // Add patterns per line of the listing file
                includedFiles // Return the final populated list -- this might be the source of the problem
            }
            from {
                customSourceSet.compileClasspath.collect { project.zipTree(it)}
            }
            into customSourceSet.output.classesDir
        }
        // Rest of the plugin.apply logic
    }
}