Understanding the underlying gradle magic - back to basics

I’ve been using gradle for a few years now and can do some very advanced things. But there is still a significant does of ‘magic’ that escapes me and frequently catches me off guard. I need help with this - a primer somewhere that will clear the haze.

Some questions:

1. How do *.gradle files exactly become groovy and at what point? What *.gradle constructs map to what in Groovy?

2. Exact details on evaluationDependsOn ordering. I have had to judiciously set those to avoid headaches but sometimes I get circular reference errors when there should be none … and I don’t understand why. I superficially looked at Gradle source code and this seems to be the trigger point … (note that I am “making adjustments” to the dependent project from its dependency)

private Project evaluationDependsOn(DefaultProject projectToEvaluate) {
    if (projectToEvaluate.getState().getExecuting()) {
    throw new CircularReferenceException(String.format(“Circular referencing during evaluation for %s.”,
    projectToEvaluate));
    }
    return projectToEvaluate.evaluate();
    }

3. Some documentation seems incomplete. For example, java plugin should create configurations with names prefixed with the source set name, but “main” source set doesn’t seem to yield any prefix - i.e. it is “compile”, not “mainCompile” as it is in “testCompile”.