TaskExecutionException when attempting to use java mutli-project structure with sourceSet to aberrate from expected directory structure

Hello - I am relatively new to gradle - so I might be doing something “wrong” but I think I’ve come across a problem:

If I use a java multi-project structure with build.gradle files in each sub-project (and the root project), while specifying a different ‘srcDir’ than what is conventional, my build fails due to missing symbols that I think should be resolved as part of the dependency resolution that has been explicitly listed in each build.gradle file.

I think this is a problem because:

If I use the conventional structure with the source files in ‘$project/src/main/java’ (instead of ‘$project/src’), and no ‘sourceSets’ block the build is successful.

dependencies are as such: Service --> Api Client --> Service Client --> Api

output from tree:

├── Api
│   ├── src
│   │   └── com
│   │  
   └── test
│   │  
       └── api
│   │  
           ├── ApiOne.java
│   │  
           └── ApiTwo.java
│   └── build.gradle
├── Client
│   ├── src
│   │   └── com
│   │  
   └── test
│   │  
       └── client
│   │  
           └── Client.java
│   └── build.gradle
├── Service
│   ├── src
│   │   └── com
│   │  
   └── test
│   │  
       └── service
│   │  
           ├── ServiceOne.java
│   │  
           └── ServiceTwo.java
│   └── build.gradle
├── build.gradle
└── settings.gradle

Also here is the content of build.gradle in the Services project:

sourceSets {
   service {
      java {
         srcDir 'src'
      }
   }
}
  dependencies {
   serviceCompile project( path: ':Api' )
}

Is this a problem or am I doing something incorrectly?

Thanks in advance!

Could you post your root project’s build.gradle and settings.gradle files, as well as the actual error you’re getting?

Few things I can see without those though, is that I believe your Service/build.gradle file should be more like this:

apply plugin: "java"
  sourceSets {
 main {