Spring boot missing HexCodec dependency

Hi All,

I am new with gradle and I started working on migrating my maven project to gradle, I have used the gradle init task to do the initial phase and create the elementary skeleton then I started adding manually the missing parts, my project is a Spring boot application and when I have tried running the app using gradle run, I encountered the following exception:

java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: brave/internal/HexCodec

but in my build.gradle I have added the following dependency and it didn’t help:

implementation ‘io.opentracing.brave:brave-opentracing:0.33.7’

although it includes the missing file there, what I am missing here?

thanks in advance!

I usually have a bootRun task when creating Spring boot applications.

Your implementation line looks correct.

Please either attach the whole build.gradle file, or provide (at least) the plugins block.

Hi @christianGen , although running the bootRun task will give me the same error, here are the plugins I used:

plugins {
    id 'java'
    id 'org.springframework.boot' version '2.4.2'
//    id 'com.ebay.build.assembler' version '0.1.0-RC6'
    id 'application'
    id 'pmd'
//    id 'checkstyle'
}

You don’t need the id 'application' plugin.

Do you use the spring-boot BOM?
(In kotlin: implementation(platform(org.springframework.boot.gradle.plugin.SpringBootPlugin.BOM_COORDINATES)))

If not you are missing the spring boot dependency plugin: id 'io.spring.dependency-management' version '1.0.11.RELEASE'

Easiest is probably to start with a build.gradle file from https://start.spring.io/

thanks for your answer, can you kindly explain for me the following:

1. why there is no need foe the application plugin? won’t this run the application with defining the main class?

2. why the spring-boot BOM is needed?

don’t have the same configuration as you listed above will try both, thanks!

The application plugin provides the run task.