Publishing plugin snapshots

TLDR; What is the recommended approach for publishing plugin SNAPSHOTs?

One thing I struggle with in terms of writing Gradle plugins is how to test them out in the projects in which I use them. Traditionally this would be a SNAPSHOT, but the portal does not handle SNAPSHOT versions well and I think have recently begun rejecting SNAPSHOT versions.

So I started playing with simply publishing the SNAPSHOT directly to Maven Central. This has an odd behavior though that I am trying to understand. I have the following config:

plugins {
    id 'java-gradle-plugin'
    // to be able to publish SNAPSHOT versions
    id 'maven-publish'
    id 'io.github.gradle-nexus.publish-plugin' version '1.1.0'
}

group = 'io.github.sebersole'
version = '1.3.1-SNAPSHOT'

gradlePlugin {
    plugins {
        testkit {
            id = 'com.github.sebersole.testkit-junit5'
            implementationClass = 'com.github.sebersole.testkit.TestKitPlugin'
        }
    }
}

pluginBundle {
    mavenCoordinates {
        groupId = project.group.toString()
        artifactId = project.name
        version = project.version.toString()
    }

plugins {
    }
}

publishing {
    publications {
        java(MavenPublication) {
            from(components.java)
        }
    }
}

nexusPublishing {
    repositories {
        sonatype {
            nexusUrl = uri("https://s01.oss.sonatype.org/service/local/")
            snapshotRepositoryUrl = uri("https://s01.oss.sonatype.org/content/repositories/snapshots/")
        }
    }
}

However, atm trying to publish this leads to:

[sebersole@localhost testkit-junit5-plugin]$ ./gradlew publish 

Task :publishPluginMavenPublicationToSonatypeRepository 
Multiple publications with coordinates 'io.github.sebersole:testkit-junit5-plugin:1.3.1-SNAPSHOT' are published to repository 'sonatype'. The publications will overwrite each other!> 

Task :publishTestkitPluginMarkerMavenPublicationToSonatypeRepository FAILED

FAILURE: