Publishing EARs?

Working on adopting Gradle for our first ever real build tool, and I’m confused about publishing EARs. I’m new to Gradle so maybe I’m just not interpreting the documentation correctly.

I’m working on implementing Gradle for a J2EE web application. It consists of several JARs and a WAR that get packaged into an EAR. Building and publishing the JARs and WAR is working fine with maven-publish, but it looks like maven-publish doesn’t support publishing EARs yet. Since maven-publish doesn’t support publishing EARs, I think I need to use the “old way” outlined in Chapter 53 of the user guide.

I’ve configured the artifacts configuration and uploadArchives task to include the ear and upload to our Artifactory respectively. That works in that the EAR is uploaded to Artifactory, but the POM and associated meta-data is not uploaded like it is for the JARs and WAR with maven-publish. An ivy.xml is uploaded though I don’t know why. How do I get the POM and meta-data to upload/publish for the EAR? Do I need to somehow include them in the archives artifact?

I’m running Gradle 2.9 and publishing to Artifactory 4.2.2.

You can use the ‘maven-publish’ plugin to publish an EAR as well. You can publish any file really. The POM that gets uploaded won’t have dependency metadata in it though (although I’m not exactly sure what you’d expect that to be for an EAR).

publications {
    ear(MavenPublication) {
        artifact ear
    }
}

Thanks for the reply.

Honestly, I’m new to Gradle and never used Maven so I don’t have a complete understanding of what the POM is all for. I just noticed it was missing on the EAR upload and was concerned. Maybe it’s not an issue.

I added the code snippet you specified and now I’m getting an error. See below. How do I make the EAR be of type MavenArtifact?

[code]
A problem occurred configuring root project ‘MyProjectEAR’.

Exception thrown while executing model rule: PublishingPlugin.Rules#publishing