project.buildDir and eclipse.classpath.defaultOutputDir are inconsistent by default, which cause confusion for beginners

hi folks,

I’m new to Gradle, when I was first using Buildship, I imported my project into Eclipse with Buildship, it used the default output dir target/bin, things works so far.
However, I need to run some task before running my tests (or launching the main class), so I executed the task on the Gradle Task viewer, I thought the output of the task (generating some properties file) not under target/bin, but it’s under build, which is the default value of project.buildDir.

after making them consistent, my problem solved.

here is my proposal for improving this:

1. use project.buildDir is no custom configuration available for eclipse plugin
  2. warn on the project if the value of project.buildDir and eclipse.classpath.defaultOutputDir are inconsistent.

the other advantage is, this will make thing simple when implement the feature “Run tasks on Eclipse auto-build” in future.

Hi Nick,

using a different classes output directory for Eclipse was a deliberate decision, because Eclipse uses a different compiler than Gradle. Letting both write to the same directory would lead to both being constantly out of date.

You can register a custom source folder for your generated resources. This will work equally well for Gradle and Eclipse.

def generatedResources = "$buildDir/generated-resources/main"

task generateMyResources {
  doLast {
    def properties = new File(generatedResources, "myGeneratedResource.properties")
    properties.parentFile.mkdirs()
    properties.text = "message=Stay happy!"
  }
}

sourceSets.main.resources.srcDir generatedResources //Eclipse will pick it up as a source folder
processResources.dependsOn(generateMyResources)

Cheers,
Stefan