ProGuard Project Dependencies with Plugins

Hey

Apologies if this is a dumb question. I am new to both ProGuard and Gradle. I am also new to posting here, so I am hoping I got this right. I have a project that contains the following:

• core library
  • N Plugins - each of which depend on the core library
  • Sample Application - uses Core Library + Plugins

What we typically due is we obfuscate the core library and plugins (we formally used Maven/ZKM). When we obfuscated the core library, we would create a mapping file and apply it when we obfuscated the plugins. This allowed the plugins to use methods we had obfuscated.

We are doing (attempting to do) the same in Gradle with ProGuard. We have our core Library defined with:

// Called Core:
android {
    publishNonDefault true
    sourceSets {
    }
    buildTypes {
        debug {
            debuggable true
            minifyEnabled true
            proguardFiles getDefaultProguardFile('proguard-android.txt'), 'proguard.cfg'
        }
        release {
            minifyEnabled true
        }
    }

}

configurations {
    debugCompile
    releaseCompile
    configuration.exclude group: 'com.android.support', module: 'support-v4'
}

dependencies {
    compile fileTree(dir: 'libs', include: '*.jar')
    compile "com.android.support:support-v4:$supportLibraryVersion"
    compile "com.google.code.gson:gson:$googleGsonVersion"
}

In the above, our release builds will be obfuscated, but are debug builds will not be.
Our plugins are then defined as follows:

android {
    publishNonDefault true
    sourceSets {
    }
    buildTypes {
        debug {
            debuggable true
            minifyEnabled false
        }
        release {
            minifyEnabled true
        }
    }
}

configurations {
    debugCompile
    releaseCompile
    configuration.exclude group: 'com.android.support', module: 'support-v4'
}

dependencies {
    compile fileTree(dir: 'libs', include: '*.jar')