Offline mode build dependencies fetching (AGP) from local repo

Hello, it’s my first post here so I tried to look for all the precedant posts before writing my own and I couldn’t find anything to answer my question. I also have to point out that I’m a newbie regarding gradle.

I’m a Nixpkgs maintainer and a Nix user and my end-goal is to get reproducible android gradle builds in CI.
And the nix build environment is very restricted, no internet access otherwise it wouldn’t be reproducible.

So to solve this issue, many suggested to copy the gradle cache to the offline build env to avoid any downloads.

But this is not great because the gradle cache is quite an opaque way of keeping locally a locked closure of dependencies.

Others suggested to use artifact proxies like artifactory or nexus to achieve the same goal. Unfortunately, those solutions aren’t open source, I couldn’t find any FOSS alternatives and it seems a bit overkill to spinn a proxy just for local dependency storage.

Finally, some suggested to use a plugin to copy the resolved dependencies to a local repository that could then be used offline in the build env. This was the best I could find so far.

I found those 2 plugins:

The first one wasn’t maintained anymore and didn’t work with my gradle 7.3.3 . So I forked it and rewrote it in Kotlin DSL (it was in groovy) and made it work for newer gradle versions.
That’s until I discovered the latter ivypot plugin which seems more maintained even though I didn’t give it a try yet.

The problem is not anymore on the dependency resolving side because my plugin works and some dependencies are fetched from the generated local repo during offline build. (a maven repo).

My issue is with the AGP build dependency (the Android Gradle Plugin, com.android.application:com.android.application.gradle.plugin).

Here is a scan of the build that fails me : Build Scan™ | Gradle Cloud Services

(there are actually two local repos but it’s not relevant)