No Such Property Exception using Gradle expand(ProcessResource)

Hello All,

I’m a beginner learning Gradle. I have an application.yaml file containing all the properties required for the project. I have written a processResource with expand to access the build info properties in the application.yaml file on the build so that I can use the /info actuator provided by Spring Boot. The problem I am facing is my application.yaml file contains another placeholder defined within the file. Now when I try to build the project I get No such property: xss for class: SimpleTemplateScript.

Sample application.yaml File

xxs:
id:123
value: zzzz
url: https://sample.com/value/${xxs.id}/set

info:
build:
version: project.version

build.gradle File

processResource(){
expand(project.properties)
}

The expand is attempting to replace the properties in the application.yaml file with their values, and when it sees {xxs.id} it is trying to replace it with the value of that property, but the property is not set , so I am getting the error. Is there any workaround which excludes the {xxs.id} from the expand.

Thanks

Your value must be ${xxs.id}, not just {xxs.id} as the $ is the key to resolving a property reference or executing groovy in the template. To keep the value as is, you’ll need to escape the $ in the yaml file with a \. The line should read: url: https://sample.com/value/\${xxs.id}/set

Thank you james. Its ${xxs.id} as you said. I have tried using a \ escape. The build is successful and the application.yaml file seems to be getting the values properly. But when i run the project, i am getting an exit code 1 error. If i remove the \ from the the url and comment out the line everything is working as exepected.
Is there any other way of doing apart from using \ in the url.

Thanks,