New to Gradle, seeking help please

(Dan Royer) #1

Please forgive my ignorance. I’m an old coder and I don’t grok build systems. A dev contributed a gradle build file and it caused a “multiple inclusions” warning. I’m trying to migrate away from using pom.xml. I’m having troubles with which google can’t help.

The project is https://github.com/MarginallyClever/Makelangelo/tree/dev
The build file is https://github.com/MarginallyClever/Makelangelo/blob/dev/build.gradle

I’ve installed gradle and added “c:\Gradle 2.13\bin” to my windows10 PATH environment variable. I can run “gradle -v” from the command line.

Buildship offers a “build” task and runs but doesn’t create a new ./java/target/Makelangelo-[version]-with-dependencies.jar I’m expecting.

Eclipse no longer lets me debug the app, claiming it can’t find the main() in com.marginallyclever.makelangelo.Makelangelo.

Please: what do?

(Stefan Oehme) #2

You are trying to set up a multi-project build with this structure:

makelangelo
  |- java

Your settings.gradle should include your ‘java’ subproject.

include 'java'

Also, the build.gradle file for the java project seems to have been accidentally moved to the top-level of the repo. Also, don’t check in the .gradle directory, those are just local caches.

(Dan Royer) #3

I moved build.gradle to /java, and added the “include ‘java’” line. After refresh Eclipse doesn’t recognize my source and won’t build or run. On refresh gradle project I get

org.eclipse.buildship.core.GradlePluginsRuntimeException: Cannot include existing Eclipse project Makelangelo.
at org.eclipse.buildship.core.workspace.internal.DefaultWorkspaceOperations.includeProject(DefaultWorkspaceOperations.java:199)
at org.eclipse.buildship.core.workspace.internal.DefaultWorkspaceGradleOperations.addExistingEclipseProjectToWorkspace(DefaultWorkspaceGradleOperations.java:209)