Logback error in Gradle

I am very new to programming, so please dumb it down for me…

I received this error message while creating my project in gradle. I was reading online and they said I should change my logback version to 1.1.6. However, I dont know to do that.

can anyone please help…

thanks

Logging system failed to initialize using configuration from ‘null’
java.lang.IllegalStateException: Logback configuration error detected:
ERROR in ch.qos.logback.core.joran.action.AppenderRefAction - Could not find an appender named [appender_name_IS_UNDEFINED]. Did you define it below instead of above in the configuration file?
ERROR in ch.qos.logback.core.joran.action.AppenderRefAction - See http://logback.qos.ch/codes.html#appender_order for more details.
ERROR in ch.qos.logback.classic.AsyncAppender[ASYNC_CONSOLE] - No attached appenders found

here’s what I was trying to build:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<springProperty scope="context" name="appender_name" source="app.logging-to" />

<appender name="console" class="ch.qos.logback.core.ConsoleAppender">
    <encoder>
        <pattern>%clr(%d{yyyy-MM-dd HH:mm:ss.SSS}){faint} %clr(%5p) [PID: %clr(${PID:- }){magenta}] %clr(-){faint} %clr([%15.15t]){faint} %clr(%-40.40logger{39}){cyan} %clr(:){faint} %m%n%wEx
        </pattern>
        <charset>utf8</charset>
    </encoder>
</appender> 

<appender name="file" class="ch.qos.logback.core.rolling.RollingFileAppender">
    <file>Cloud-Panel-Logs.log</file>
    <rollingPolicy class="ch.qos.logback.core.rolling.TimeBasedRollingPolicy">
        <fileNamePattern>Cloud-Panel-Logs.%d{yyyy-MM}.log</fileNamePattern>
        <maxHistory>6</maxHistory>
        <totalSizeCap>1GB</totalSizeCap>
    </rollingPolicy>

<encoder>
        <pattern>%clr(%d{yyyy-MM-dd HH:mm:ss.SSS}){faint} %clr(%5p) [PID: %clr(${PID:- }){magenta}] %clr(-){faint} %clr([%15.15t]){faint} %clr(%-40.40logger{39}){cyan} %clr(:){faint} %m%n%wEx
        </pattern>
        <charset>utf8</charset>