Javadoc generation fails because of invalid/missing packages of dependency

Hey all I am new to gradle and currently trying to port my maven setup to gradle. I encounter issues using the javadocJar task and would like to ask if you can point me in the right direction?
build.gradle: Plugily Paste
project on github (uses maven): Plugily-Projects/ScoreboardLib at development (github.com)

BuildScan to see the issue:
Build Scan™ for ‘scoreboard’ just now | Gradle Cloud Services

Basically my question is now:
Can I define the javadoc process to only javadoc classes without dependencies and build the doc jar or are there any other options?

(Removing the causing dependdencies from the code solves the javadoc building… but that would mean I can’t use the dependency anymore which would be bad…)

This is a bug in the JavaDoc tool I’d say.
It does not happen with Maven because it additionally sets the -sourcepath option.
But according to the JavaDoc tool documentation that option should only have an effect if you tell the tool to document a package. Then it should look in the specified path, otherwise in the current path and beneath.

As concrete files to be documented are specified, the JavaDoc tool should not search for packages and thus the option should be irrelevant. And even if packages were given, it seems the tool finds Java files that are in JARs on the classpath, which also does not sound correct per-se. Besides that it is imho a packaging error of that protocol support library, as they package their .java files alongside their .class files.

So I would recommend you report a bug to that library, so they do not package the sources, a second one to the JavaDoc tool, that considers these files, and as a work-around you can set the -sourcepath option for the javdoc task like

javadoc {
    options.addFileOption 'sourcepath', ...
}