If else condition in Gradle

I am new to Gradle and Groovy and I have a question on the if else construct used in build scripts

I have this really strange behavior in Gradle and I cannot find a way out of it. In my gradle.properties file, I am using this checking condition:

//gradle.properties

if ( "${System.Property['DATABASE_DIR']}".compareTo('swdb') == 0 ) {
    PROJECT_DATABASE_PATH=../database/swdb/include
    }   
else {
    PROJECT_DATABASE_PATH=../database/include/
}

I created a new task called printProperties and it looks like this.

//build.gradle
task printProperties {
    println "${System.properties['DATABASE_DIR']}".compareTo('swdb') == 0
    println PROJECT_DATABASE_PATH
}

I get the following output when I run the printProperties task.

$gradle printProperties -DDATABASE_DIR=swdb
true
../database/include/
:printProperties UP-TO-DATE
BUILD SUCCESSFUL
Total time: 1.07 secs

It is really strange that the task prints true but the gradle.properties file does not evaluate the same condition correctly. Could anybody help me with this?

However, if I am not allowed to code small constructs in the gradle.properties file, how do I read a command line defined system property based on which I choose the location of my headers in the prebuilt Libraries part of my native C Gradle model?

It is the case that you are not allowed to write logic in the gradle.properties file. A properties file is just for properties themselves. In your example, the path will always be ‘../database/include/’ because the last value set for PROJECT_DATABASE_PATH wins.