How to write custom substitution rules for ResolutionStrategy

I started playing around with 2.5 rc-1 yesterday and combed through the documentation, and for the life of me, I couldn’t figure out how given the options of ResolutionStrategy, using “substitute project with project” or “substitute project with module” to make this work for our case, which is one of using a pre-built binary from a local directory hierarchy in place of a project dependency. First of all, “module” is not well-documented anywhere that I looked. Second, it appears only to handle group,name, version. I’m guessing that what we want is closer to substitute project with library which isn’t in the API.

I had originally thought that using an artifacts closure with an associated configuration in each project on which we would have a dependency and then using something like this:

substitute project(':core:utilities:utils') with project(path:':core:utilties:utils', configuration: 'archive'),

would be what we might have to do, but given the docs and examples, I’m completely stumped. I understand that I may have to put some custom ResolutionStrategy code in settings.gradle, but I don’t know how to morph a specific binary file to a substitution rule.

I’d appreciate some help here. Thanks.

A ‘module’ in dependency substitution roughly corresponds to an ExternalModuleDependency, and ‘project’ corresponds to a ProjectDependency. More precisely they correspond to subtypes of ComponentSelector.

If you have a pre-built Jar file that you want to use instead of building a project dependency, then you need to treat that pre-built Jar file as an external module dependency. So you’d

1. Define a file-backed repository containing the jar file and include that in the set of repositories for resolving: using a Flat Directory repository is probably the easiest way, but an standard file-backed Ivy repository will work too.