How to share sub-projects among many other projects?

(Samantha Chan) #1

Hi, I am new to Gradle, and am running into issues while trying to share sub-projects among many other projects. My project structure looks as follows:

Project A
|
|--------------Project B
|--------------Project C
|--------------Project D

Project E
|
|--------------Project C
|--------------Project D

where:
Project D
|
|---------------Project C

Project C and Project D will be used in other projects very frequently, as they act as libraries for data classes and database utilities.

Project A settings.gradle file:

rootProject.name = 'ProjectA'

include ":ProjectB"
project(":ProjectB").projectDir = file("/home/myFolder/NetBeansProject/ProjectB")

include ":ProjectC"
project(":ProjectC").projectDir = file("/home/myFolder/NetBeansProject/ProjectC")

include ":ProjectD"
project(":ProjectD").projectDir = file("/home/myFolder/NetBeansProject/ProjectD")

Project A build.gradle file:

apply plugin: 'java'
apply plugin: 'application'

sourceCompatibility = '1.8'
[compileJava, compileTestJava]*.options*.encoding = 'UTF-8'

if (!hasProperty('mainClass')) {
    ext.mainClass = ''
}

repositories {
    mavenCentral()
}

dependencies {
    compile project (':ProjectB')
    compile project (':ProjectC')
    compile project (':ProjectD')
}

Likewise, all other projects have similar settings and build files, containing their respective sub-projects they are dependent on.

Unfortunately, it would seem that Gradle gets confused when multiple projects are dependent on the same sub-projects.

For example, Project E runs just fine, while Project A is unable to import any classes from any of its sub-projects.

Error Log:

Exception 1:
    org.netbeans.gradle.model.util.TransferableExceptionWrapper: org.gradle.api.internal.artifacts.ivyservice.DefaultLenientConfiguration$ArtifactResolveException: Could not resolve all files for configuration ':compileClasspath'.