How to make Gradle choose a different version of C compiler?

I am a Gradle newbie and just starting to explore the different features that is provided for building C sources. My project requires the use of a sparc-rtems-gcc compiler variant. Using the toolChains container, I tried to use the path option to set a path for Gradle to pick up the Gcc compiler but I get the result as tool chain unavailable. Here is an excerpt of my build.gradle.

model {

toolChains {
	gcc(Gcc) {
		path "/opt/rtems/version_number/bin/"
	}
}

It is within this that my compiler invocation resides with the name sparc-rtems-gcc. How do I make Gradle compile my sources using this command?
Also note that by default Gradle chooses the gcc compiler which is present in my $PATH variable without issues.

I haven’t looked at changing the path for GCC, but looking at this sample you might need to provide the full path to the binary, instead of the folder.

gcc(Gcc) {
        // Uncomment to use a GCC install that is not in the PATH
        // path "/usr/bin/gcc"
    }

I have given the path as opt/rtems/version_number/bin/sparc-rtems-gcc and still I get the error as

Could not find C compiler ‘gcc’.

Hi Ganesh,

Thanks for raising this documentation limitation. The feature exists but seems to not be documented through the DSL docs.

To choose a different version of the C compiler you need to configure the GccPlatformToolChain through the toolChains configuration. You can use eachPlatform if you want to do the modification for every platform or target if you want to do the modification only for a single platform.

When configuring your gcc toolchain, you use the Gcc type. This type has a common base class with Clang which is GccCompatibleToolChain. The method of interest is the search path, the target configuration and the configuration for all platforms. Below is an example using the search path and eachPlatform that should give you the intended result:

apply plugin: 'c'

model {
  toolChains {