How to configure gradle for multi project builds and publishing?

Dear all,

I am quite new to gradle and even after reading a lot in this forum, I am a little bit confused with multi project configurations and multi project publishing.

What I learned so far:

1. In a repository with multi project builds, there is only one settings.gradle on the repo level while the build.gradle is only defined on the (sub-) project level. Hence, there is no build.gradle on the repo level: Structuring and Building a Software Component with Gradle
  2. As of gradle 7, there is a new central declaration of repositories in the settings.gradle: Gradle | What's new in Gradle 7.0

However, I have the following questions:

1. Can I define variables for the repositories, such that I can reuse the repository (name, url, credentials) in all my (sub-) projects for the publishing task. Ideally, this could be something like this in each sub project
publishing {
    publications {
        myLibrary(MavenPublication) {
            from components.java
        }
    }

repositories {
        maven **myRepoVarDefinedInTheGradleSettings**
    }
}
  1. What are the things that I really need to specify in the publication section? What about groupId, artifactId, version and (JDK) versionMapping?

2. Is there a central place, where I can define general plugins and settings like the following idea plugin? I tried to create a build.gradle on the repo level once, but it did not seem to be considered…

apply plugin: 'idea'
idea {
    module {
        downloadJavadoc = true
        downloadSources = true
    }
}
  1. Are there any pros and cons of using a buildSrc folder? I somehow got the impression that this is an old way of structuring builds but never understood when/how/why to use buildSrc

Sorry for these stupid questions. Any help is much appreciated, thanks!