How to add generated web-client to final jar?

Hi!

I am rather new to gradle but I am currently switching from Maven to it (finally).

However, I am failing at the last step where I need to add the compiled web-client to the final server.jar under BOOT-INF/classes/static such that it is being served by the Spring Boot server.
In my despair I even considered adding those files using jar (the executable) but that’s not working anyway.

The “simple” question is: How can this be done?

Imo there are three options:

First, I could copy the files to build/classes/static and let Spring Boot package management take care of everything. The problem here is that the jar seems to get created before I can run a copy { }.

Second, The other option is to add those files after the .jar file was build using the jar command.

And third, set mobile-client/build as a static resource for the Spring Boot server. But even if I knew how to do that I would probably have the same problem again: The jar will be built before the client got generated

This here is my project structure:

web-client/     # Angular Client
  build/
  build.gradle  

server/         # Spring Boot Application
  build/
  build.gradle  

build.gradle    # The "parent" project. Works on web-client and server

And this here is the build.gradle file of the “parent”:

task buildWebApp {
    outputs.dir('mobile-client/build')
    dependsOn ':mobile-client:buildWebApp'
}

task copyWebApp {
    doFirst {
        copy {
            from 'mobile-client/build'
            into 'server/build/classes/static'
        }
    }
    dependsOn tasks.buildWebApp
}

assemble.dependsOn copyWebApp

Thanks for any help on this …

See also: related stackoverflow question