How do I learn Gradle?

Hi,

As I mentioned in my other post I am very new to Gradle and I have found it pretty tough going.

Part of it is the Groovy syntax which is probably just a familiarity issue. It’s hard when learning a new language and a build system at the same time. The main problem I have is that there so many different ways of doing the same thing. That just makes the learning curve so much harder. Part of this is syntax but I don’t think it all is. A really strict linter might help in this regard if one exists?

The Gradle DSL is also quite hard to work out. Everything looks deceptively similar but that similarity doesn’t help because things aren’t the same. Like at the top level there are the methods on the project plus a few other things like the build script and plugins. Then there are tasks which kind of look like the other top level things but aren’t. Then the splattering of objects (?) and closures. This is likely completely wrong.

Which brings me to my main point, how do you know what to pass to a closure? The docs don’t say much other than it must be a closure and neither does the source code. The only way I have managed this far is by copying examples and pure luck. I much prefer having a good reference to go to, that way I can figure out on my own without an example and go beyond what the example would show me.

This isn’t really a criticism of Gradle just my frustrations as a beginner. I come from the Scala/sbt ecosystem so we have similar issues over there. Any pointers to help me to help myself would be much appreciated.

Cheers

3 Likes

Understanding these Groovy features helped me greatly in deciphering the Gradle DSL:

1. Closures specifically scoping
  2. Omitting parentheses
  3. Getter and Setters