Gradle not compiling dependency jars in lib folder

I am new to gradle and learning now. I am trying to build a runnable jar using gradle(My builded jar should be run from command prompt). I just started with a simple HelloWorld project with a dependency and try to build it using gradle. I am not using maven. So I added the dependency jar to the lib folder inside project folder. Below are the details.

Gradle Version: 3.1 Eclipse Version: Neon

HelloWorld.java

package com.padhu.test;
import org.joda.time.LocalTime;

public class HelloWorld {

public static void main(String[] args) {
        // TODO Auto-generated method stub

LocalTime currentTime = new LocalTime();
        System.out.println("The current local time is: " + currentTime);

System.out.println("Hello World");

}

}

build_path_snap

build.gradle file:

apply plugin: 'java'
apply plugin: 'application'
mainClassName = 'com.padhu.test.HelloWorld'

repositories {

flatDir {
      dirs 'lib'
   }
}

dependencies {

compile files(fileTree(dir: 'lib', includes: ['*.jar']))

}

jar {
  manifest {
    attributes(

'Main-Class': 'com.padhu.test.HelloWorld'
    )
  }
}

I can successfully execute gradle build in my cmd and jar file is getting generated. But inside jar file, I can see only HelloWorld folder structure, but couldnt see the dependency files. So I am not able to run the jar from command prompt since I am getting NoClassDefFoundError: org/joda/time/LocalTime…

I tried fixing the issue myself by searching and reading blogs…but I am not able to run the jar successfully.

Kindly help me.

You are building an executable JAR, but you’re not building a “fat” JAR. You’ll either need to explicitly create one, use a plugin that does so, or run the JAR with the additional classpath information.