Export JAVA_HOME=/usr/lib/jvm/default-java in gradle shell script

I confess I am a desperate noob with both gradle and linux, but after having trouble getting gradle to run I discovered that the problem was the line

export JAVA_HOME=/usr/lib/jvm/default-java

in the gradle shell script (gradle 1.4)

This seems a bit presumptuous (my JDK installed to /usr/lib/jvm/java-7-oracle). Surely the script should presume the user sets their JAVA_HOME variable as they see fit, or at least check if its set, and if not then try a default value.

I’ve fixed it for now, but am I going to have to hack the script again when I update my Gradle version?

Thanks

Which Gradle shell script are you referring to? I can’t find any occurrence of ‘export’ in either the ‘gradle’ or the ‘gradlew’ script.

gradle --version

-------------------------- --------------------------------- Gradle 1.4 ---------------------------- --------------------------------

Gradle build time: Monday, 9 September 2013 20:44:25 o’clock UTC Groovy: 1.8.6 Ant: Apache Ant™ version 1.9.2 compiled on July 14 2013 Ivy: non official version JVM: 1.7.0_45 (Oracle Corporation 24.45-b08) OS: Linux 3.11.0-14-generic i386

I installed it using apt-get. Is that wrong? I now see on the Gradle website the latest install is 1.9

The offending code in the gradle script in more context:

CLASSPATH=$APP_HOME/lib/gradle-launcher-1.4.jar
  #export JAVA_HOME=/usr/lib/jvm/default-java
  # Determine the Java command to use to start the JVM.
if [ -n "$JAVA_HOME" ] ; then
    if [ -x "$JAVA_HOME/jre/sh/java" ] ; then
        # IBM's JDK on AIX uses strange locations for the executables
        JAVACMD="$JAVA_HOME/jre/sh/java"
    else
        JAVACMD="$JAVA_HOME/bin/java"
    fi
    if [ ! -x "$JAVACMD" ] ; then
        die "ERROR: JAVA_HOME is set to an invalid directory: $JAVA_HOME