Direct communication between Java annotation processors and Gradle scripts

Firstly, I would like to say that I have been very pleased with how well Gradle has worked with our build process (I’m a programmer with Penn State University working on porting our builds over from Ant to Gradle).

But I have come across a problem and I think I have a solution.

My team leader had the idea of using annotations on classes and packages in order to mark them for which client jars they should be put into.

I originally thought that all I would have to do was add a static member with the necessary data to the annotation processor’s class and access that data directory from a Gradle script. e.g.:

import proc.MyAnnoProc
  // declare compilation and script dependencies on annotation and processor jars
  task doSomethingWithAnnotationData(dependsOn: compileJava) {
    doSomethingWith(MyAnnoProc.getDataFromProcessing())
}

But this does not work, because the annotation processor class used by the Java compiler is loaded by a different classloader than the one used by the Gradle script. So we have two different versions of the annotation processor class that we want.

I’ve made a proof-of-concept that allows me to pass information directly between annotation processor classes and Gradle scripts in the manner that I’ve described above.

This is the first time I’ve ever made a useful (I think) modification to an open-source project so I am completely new to this.

Any feedback, questions, and/or information telling me that this-is-already-available-in-Gradle-why-didn’t-you-read-the-docs-etc is welcome. :slight_smile:

Hi Alexander,

The classloaders are isolated by design, and moreover we are moving towards out of process compilation. It turns out that compiling in process is too risky as it can pollute the build JVM.

Is the issue just that you need to split up one source set into multiple jars? Or is it something else?

Hi Luke, thank you for responding!