Could we run JavaExec in the same JVM without forking a new process?

Hello,

I am pretty new to Gradle and I am converting the build of our medium sized application from Maven to Gradle.

Although I searched the documentation, this forum and googled around for a while, I could not find a way to run a JavaExec without forking a new process. Both Ant and Maven support this out of the box, so I am pretty surprised… and also surprised not to see any requests for this in the forum or the bug database…

Did I miss something?

My reasons for not wanting to spawn a new Java process are:

1. Speed (obviously): we generate about 10 WSDL files using org.apache.cxf.tools.java2ws.JavaToWS and every time it takes about 1-2 sec when it was almost instantaneous using Maven exec-maven-plugin

2. This would solve the long classpath issue on Windows (“java.io.IOException: CreateProcess error=206, The filename or extension is too long”)

The only workaround I found was to use ant.java but it does not really fit into the nice picture and the stdout is not visible on the flow (only at the end).

task justDoIt(dependsOn:[classes]) << {
 def myclasspath = sourceSets.main.output
 myclasspath += configurations.compile
 def concatCp = myclasspath.collect{ it.getAbsolutePath() }.join(';')
 ant.java(classname: 'com.foo.bar.JustDoIt',
       classpath: concatCp, outputproperty: 'op', fork:false)
 println ant.properties.op
}

Many thanks in advance for your inputs. Best regards

You could do something like:

task justDoIt(dependsOn:[classes]) << {
    def sysOut = System.out
    def classloader = new URLClassloader(gradle.class.classLoader)
    configurations.compile.each { classloader.addURL(it.toURI().toURL()) }
    sourceSets.main.output.each { classloader.addURL(it.toURI().toURL()) }
    def justDoIt = classloader.loadClass('com.foo.bar.JustDoIt').newInstance()
    def stream = new ByteArrayOutputStream()
    try {
       System.out = new PrintStream(stream)
       justDoIt.main([])