Copying values from conventions in plugins to tasks

Hi

I am trying to write a plugin and make use of the plugin convention. The examples I have looked at (for example izpack, gradle’s application plugin) seem to involve a lot of copying of values from the convention to a task and then on to an object that implements them. For example the application plugin defines fields in the ApplicationPluginConvention, then in ApplicationPlugin copies them from the ApplicationPluginConvention to the CreateStartScripts task which then copies them to the StartScriptGenerator which actually does the work.

Is this considered the best way to do this? It feels like a lot of boilerplate copying to me, but I am new to groovy and to writing anything but the simplest of gradle tasks, so I suspect I am missing something.

Is there a reason to not just pass the entire convention to the task/object? Is there a reason to not access the convention outside of the plugin? It seems like that would reduce much of the code that looks like: startScripts.conventionMapping.mainClassName = { pluginConvention.mainClassName } or generator.mainClassName = getMainClassName()

BTW, this page helped me understand what was going on with conventions: http://hamletdarcy.blogspot.com/2010/03/gradle-plugin-conventions-groovy-magic.html

thanks, Philip

A central idea behind convention mapping is to separate the configuration of tasks by plugins from the tasks themselves. Tasks shouldn’t make assumptions about the world. They shouldn’t know about things like source sets, configurations and convention objects. All of that would make them less reusable and tie them to the plugin.

Additionally, convention mapping is one of the ways to tackle the evaluation order problem, where a value used to configure a task might not yet be available at the time the plugin executes.