Cache Dependencies into Local Maven Repository from Gradle

How to download and cache artifacts into local Maven Repository from Gradle

2 Likes

I’m not sure if this answers your answer. First of all, I’m new to Gradle.

First of all, Gradle has its own cache where it stores the downloaded artifacts. It resides in $HOME/.gradle, at least in Unix environments.

However, you can read the local Maven repository by putting this in your build.gradle:

repositories {
     mavenLocal()
}

You can publish artifacts into the local Maven repository by putting into your build.gradle:

apply plugin: 'maven'

Then you can write “gradle install” and it will install your artifact into your local Maven repository.

However, if you download artifacts from a remote Maven repo, Gradle will put the artifacts into its own cache, not in the local Maven repository.

I want the dependencies to be stored in the local Mavan Repo than the Gradle local repo

Gradle will always store downloaded artifacts in its own cache. You can additionally use artifacts stored in the local Maven repository by declaring a ‘mavenLocal()’ repository. You can install into the local Maven repository by applying the ‘maven’ plugin and running the ‘install’ task.

Are the cached Jars moved to the local maven repo when installed or just the build artifacts?

Only the build artifacts (i.e. what your gradle project built)

indeed, this is something I am missing. Are there any plans to support the download to the local maven repository?

That’s not something that’s planned at this point, and not likely to be anytime soon.

I think this is indeed important! I have to take so long to redownload the artifacts which I have downloaded.

1 Like

It would be important if you have not only Gradle projects but also Maven projects which you cannot change or migrate. Then it would be an annoyance to have those duplicate jars.