Build failed due to use of singleton (getInstance) in a start method

Hi,

I’m a software tester using testfx using the company internal testfx framework. I’m also a newbie to gradle and jenkins (CD/CI).

Everytime I run a build gradle to run a test, build fails. Main problem is that the class ApplicationTest I have to start the application I’m testing with, uses a getInstance() method.

This is the error message:

java.lang.RuntimeException: java.util.concurrent.ExecutionException: java.lang.IllegalStateException: >Location is not set.

The error is detected particularly on the lines where init(), getInstance() in the main application class and the use of getInstance() in my ApplicationTest class.

Excerpt from the application’s main class:

public void init(final Stage primaryStage) {
config = DisplayConfiguration.loadConfig(DisplayConfiguration.DEFAULT_PATH);
Screen scr = config.getScreen();
DEFAULT_STAGE_X = scr.getBounds().getMinX();
DEFAULT_STAGE_Y = scr.getBounds().getMinY();
instance = this;
Stage = primaryStage;
KeyboardManager.initOwner(Stage);

boolean licensedVersion = Boolean.parseBoolean(
  		ResourceManager.getInstance().getConfigurationValue(ResourceConstants));
  if (licensedVersion) {
  	DongleManager.getInstance().addDongleStateListener(this);
  }

}

public final void start(final Stage primaryStage) {
this.init(primaryStage);
}

public static Main getInstance() {
if (instance == null) {
instance = new Main();
instance.init(new Stage());
System.out.println(“Main.getInstance()”);
}
return instance;
}

And this is my ApplicationTest class’ method looks like:

public void start(final Stage stage) {
Main.getInstance();
}

Peculiarly, if I start the test with JUnit, the application runs normally and I can see the test result (the fxrobot worked). But I need to build the test programme with gradle because the tests are supposedly to be integrated in a CD/CI, with jenkins.