Binding dependency configuration with a task

Hi!
I’m completely new with Gradle. For beginning, I am trying to create a build script for simple console Java application, without using java plugin. There are only two dependencies in my code from maven repository.
So, my build contains one task, which extends JavaCompile, in which I specify classpath, destination, ect.
My project doesn’t apply java plugin, therefore I need to create dependency configuration by my own, like this:

configurations {
myCompile {
    desciprtion = 'my own compile dependency configuration'
    transitive = true
     }
 }

Then I can bind dependencies on this configuration:
dependencies {
myCompile group: ‘org.apache.logging.log4j’, name: ‘log4j-api’, version: '2.7’
myCompile group: ‘org.apache.logging.log4j’, name: ‘log4j-core’, version: ‘2.7’
}
As far as i understand, after that I must bind those configuration with my compile action, but I can’t figure out how. Can someone point this out to me?
Any help will be really appreciated)

May I ask why you are not using the java plugin? If you just want to have different sourceSets than main/test, then use the java-base plugin. It will automatically create a compile task and dependency configurations and wire them up correctly for each sourceSet you add.

apply plugin: 'java-base'

sourceSets {
  foo {
    java.srcDir 'src/foo/java'
  }
}

The main reason for not using it is to truly understand gradle basics, just like when people start learning java with terminal only.
I think such approach make sense, because if you get through making build without plugin, you will get into syntax, logic, and understanding how real plugins are written inside (as i understand, the are made with gradle).
That’s why im trying to figure this out)