Automatically build task when input is missing

First, a disclaimer: I’m brand new to Gradle, yet trying to replace a complicated build system with Gradle. Nevertheless, I’ve been very impressed with the measured, calculated approach that Gradle development seems to have taken, and the Gradle community as a whole. Therefore, I’m hoping you can help.

I’ve read up about incremental build tasks, the build cache, specifying build inputs and outputs, etc. My understanding is that when I connect outputs of one task to the input of a second task, Gradle should “do the right thing”. I take that to mean that if the input is missing, that Gradle will invoke the task that produces that input.

Instead, what I see is that Gradle is basically treating a missing input as an empty input file. If the file does exist, Gradle’s up-to-date logic appears sound. But what I cannot get (and what I desire) is for the producing task to be run automatically, in order to generate its output, which is the input for the desired task.

I’m working on a more complicated environment (biting off a lot at once!), but I think this small example demonstrates what I mean:
defaultTasks ‘foo’

task bar {
    inputs.file "${projectDir}/in.txt"
    outputs.file "${projectDir}/bar.txt"
    doLast {
        def f = file("${projectDir}/bar.txt")
        if (!f.exists()) {
            f.text = "bar"
            println "Created file ${f}"
        }
    }
}

task foo {
    inputs.file "${projectDir}/bar.txt"
    outputs.file "${projectDir}/foo.txt"
    doLast {
        def f = file("${projectDir}/foo.txt")
        if (!f.exists()) {
            f.text = "foo"
            println "Created file ${f}"
        }
    }
}