Ant imports & taskdefs - failed to create task or type junit

I’m a complete gradle newbie and I’m trying to import an ant file and invoke one of it’s targets that happens to do some junit stuff. Apparently I’m loading up the taskdef properly but I’m clueless.

• Gradle uses its own ‘instance’ of ant and does not bother using what’s installed at $ANT_HOME, yes?

• Should the build.gradle below work?

defaultTasks = ['smoke']
  project(':foo-webapp'){
      repositories{
        mavenCentral()
    }
    configurations {
        antClasspath
    }
    dependencies {
        antClasspath 'org.apache.ant:ant-junit4:1.8.3'
    }
    ClassLoader antClassLoader = org.apache.tools.ant.Project.class.classLoader
    configurations.antClasspath.each { File f ->
        println('[Dependencies] ' + f.toURI().toURL())
        antClassLoader.addURL(f.toURI().toURL())
    }
      ant.importBuild 'test/bug.xml'
  }

Error:

C02LG18JF1G3:zuora revans$ ./gradlew smoke [Dependencies] file:/Users/objectiveous/.gradle/caches/modules-2/files-2.1/org.apache.ant/ant-junit4/1.8.3/5c021fdf73b2561d55130e6c8d4dd495c3dfb8e7/ant-junit4-1.8.3.jar [Dependencies] file:/Users/objectiveous/.gradle/caches/modules-2/files-2.1/org.apache.ant/ant/1.8.3/77c746ecab048b9839c7a8e39e55fe8636c5b11/ant-1.8.3.jar [Dependencies] file:/Users/objectiveous/.gradle/caches/modules-2/files-2.1/junit/junit/4.8.1/f2975548f836416306ef1dee748d956f04733915/junit-4.8.1.jar [Dependencies] file:/Users/objectiveous/.gradle/caches/modules-2/files-2.1/org.apache.ant/ant-launcher/1.8.3/a22bcf9438c41828b04c13b052c4886606abac2/ant-launcher-1.8.3.jar :Zuora-webapp:smoke FAILED

FAILURE: Build failed with an exception.

• What went wrong: Execution failed for task ‘:foo-webapp:smoke’. > Problem: failed to create task or type junit

Cause: the class org.apache.tools.ant.taskdefs.optional.junit.JUnitTask was not found.

This looks like one of Ant’s optional components.

Action: Check that the appropriate optional JAR exists in